top of page

What Time Is it?

Updated: May 5, 2021

As you follow, you'll realize I'm a HUGE fan of turning trash into treasure - a "thrift store score" as I like to call it. This clock make-over was super easy and the results were amaze balls! A little chalk paint and ta-da!



I started with a $2.99 mid-century modern clock from the Salvation Army. I was hopeful it would work with a new battery. Tip: Along with a tape measure, always carry A or AA batteries to test second hand battery operated finds.


I quickly learned the clock needed more than a little paint to elevate to "treasure" status. YouTube is your friend! I Googled "how to fix quartz clock workings." Bingo! I put on the cheaters, grabbed my teeny tiny pliers and got to work. Back keeping time in no time once again!


I bought a small bottle of black chalk paint and got to work making it mine. Chalk paint is so forgiving and easy to work with. It transforms everything it touches. Little job, little paint brush.





I had plans to hang the clock in my kitchen; however, it just looked stunning in our dining room! It wouldn't be unlike me to move it a few times before it stays put for a while.



What thrift store score do you have laying around just waiting to be made new again!? Comment with pictures! I'd love to help encourage you to get started!


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page