top of page

Mirror Mirror on the Wall

As many of you know, I love paint and its transformative power! Color can make such a difference! But what about mirror effect spray paint?? I was up for an experiment. I had bought a huge frame for a poster that I no longer wanted to display, so I had a nicely sized frame to turn into a mirror for above our bedroom dresser. The results are reflective, but this is NOT a Home Goods reflective quality.


Supplies:

>Picture frame

>Mirror Effect spray paint (I used Rust-o-leum brand)

>Drop clothes

>Glass cleaner


Directions:

  1. Start by placing drop cloths down so you can spray the paint doing wide strokes off of the mirror itself (for cleaner edges).

  2. Dismantle the frame and wash both sides of the glass/plastic!! I can't stress this enough! You will be spraying the back side of the glass/plastic; therefore, any fingerprints or smudges will show through to the front side and be there FOREVER!



Here's the Mirror Effect Spray paint I used. I bought two cans, but one was more than enough for this larger-sized frame.



3. Using smooth back and forth strokes coat the glass/plastic. Remember - you are spraying the backside of the mirror, so it will look foggy and unclear. I sprayed about four coats.



4. Let dry completely and re-assemble the frame, placing the mirror effect side out.


5. Boom - a mirror! Again, this is not a super clear mirror, but rather a great option for casting additional light in those darker corners (like our north-facing bedroom!). Transforming an under utilized frame beats buying mirror for $50 any day!



What have your transformed lately with spray paint!? Make sure you're in a well-ventilated area and you shake it now shake it! :)










18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page