top of page

No guts, no glory!

Updated: May 6, 2021

My faux wood garage door project took guts! I researched this DIY more than any other project I've ever attempted. The pressure was on. If I failed, the entire neighborhood would know. Plus, nothing could be worse than our flat color-scheme exterior: beige, beige and more beige - blech. I had already tried to bust up the brown with a green front door. But, nothing can't be fixed. So, I dove in! Here's the before. Snooze.


Supplies:

>gel stain - I used MiniWax Gel Stain in Walnut.

>oil based stain brush

>rags

> base color *chalk paint makes for a great adhesive base coat. Otherwise, any spare exterior paint that won't impact the stain color.

>Clear, protective exterior top coat (optional) *Miniwax's Helmsman Spar Urethane in Clear/Satin is what I bought, but didn't use.

>80s music :)


Note: Make sure you have a few days without precipitation (and humidity) in the forecast to assure perfect drying conditions.


1. Because we already had a tan painted door, the door was primed and ready for stain. I just gave it a good washing with some car wash soap (since it's eco-friendly and readily available). Make sure to let the doors dry completely.


2. Using the oil based stain brush, apply the gel stain liberally going with the "grain" of the aluminum door to give it a more natural wood effect. Step back and get a street view periodically so the brush strokes don't drive you crazy!


3. Continue to cover the entire door. I only used one coat and am super happy with the results! Because our house faces north, I didn't use a top coat over the stain; however, you might consider that depending on the elements (mainly potential sun exposure).



What a transformation! This ended up being the EASIEST DIY I've ever done. Hands down.



Next up...some window trim updates to balance the dark "wood" colored door! Time and some stain or a $1000+ new door!? Obvs, eh? You can do it! What's the scariest DIY you've ever tried!??




42 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page