top of page

Sisal Toilet Paper Holder

If it doesn't exist, make it! We redid our main floor bathroom in the summer of 2019. Since then, I've been on the hunt for the "perfect" toilet paper holder. Who knew I had such an opinion about such a trivial thing? We've ALL had to search under a friend's bathroom vanity hoping to find an extra roll - that is NOT trivial!


In looking at textiles and my use of them in our small 1/4 bath, something was "off." I had pictures, plants (albeit fake since there is zero natural night), a candle. The space still needed something "soft" to put in that empty corner on the floor - soft, fluffy, and functional: toilet paper, of course! However, it needed a simple holder, but everything I found was way overpriced and not the style I was looking for. If you can't find what you're looking for, make what you're looking for!




I've been channeling my inner-70s child lately and getting into macrame. Why not make a sisal/jute toilet paper holder!? That's all I need and nothing I don't!


Supplies:

> 1 bundle of 50 ft Natural Sisal rope (I got mine at Hobby Lobby) *more depending on the size of your holder

> Glue gun & glue *make sure your glue is clear since it can ooze between the layers of sisal

> Roll of toilet paper to measure circumference & height. *All TP rolls are a standard 5" wide.




  1. Heat your glue gun.

  2. Cut off the first two inches of the sisal rope so you can bend it into a circle more easily.

  3. Glue the end of the sisal rope that you just cut so it doesn't fray when forcing it into a circle.


4. Continue to wrap & glue the sisal into a circle. Use your toilet paper roll as a guide to measure the circumference. This part reminds me of fern fiddle heads in Spring! Bliss! A one inch salvage should be sufficient space around the roll itself. You don't want any snagged sisal on your bum. Ouch!




5. Start to work the sisal up into a cylinder shape, gluing & stacking along the way (you'll see my sisal is cut here - I used up some remaining sisal and started using a new package). No problem (any "flaws" or features can face the corner). :) Keep 'er movin'.


6. Depending on how many spare rolls your holder will hold, you can keep wrapping the sisal as high as you'd like; however, you'll need more sisal. One 50 ft package was enough for a one roll holder (about 6" tall).

7. I added a few black pieces of black jute for embellishment since I had it on hand, but this is completely optional.


8. Continue gluing and stacking the sisal to the desired height.


9. Determine how you want to "finish" your holder (clean edge or loopy handle like I did). If it is the latter, simply separate the sisal and glue it in an arch, making a handle loop and gluing at the base and the loop top to keep it intact. Work with the natural cure of the sisal to make the loop.



10. Continue stacking and gluing until you get to the direct opposite side of the holder and create another loop - gluing it at the base and on the top to keep it in place.


11. I wasn't sure how to "end" the stacking so I just cut the sisal and tucked it inside of the holder where one of the handles begins. Again, glue the ends so it doesn't fray. It's a little crude, but this can easily be hidden by placing the holder at just the right angle. :)


12. Cute, right? Functional? Undeniable!


I'd love to hear feedback on this project: praises, suggestions or areas of confusion. And, of course, pictures of your personalized touches! Happy buzzing! - Rae

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page