top of page

Simple Hummingbird Swing

If you know me personally you know I'm a bit fanatical about hummingbirds. Their size, speed, strength, endurance, intellect and beauty are amazing to me! Did you know hummingbirds return to the same location each Spring if they know there is a food source!? I'd go where I knew I could find food, too! They can travel up to 23 miles a day and their hearts beat nearly 1300 beats per minute! Lubba dubba lubba dubba! I've been tracking their migration and they have been spotted as far north as Madison, Wisconsin: approximately 230 miles from the Twin Cities metro area. That is only 10 days away! So get your feeders out. Besides eating, working and sleeping, hummingbirds are known to enjoy relaxing and protecting their food source from a swing. A super easy, cheap DIY to compliment your hummingbird feeder!


Supplies/Tools:

>wire hanger

>dowel cut to size (roughly 12")

>heavy weight, bendable wire (Dollar Tree garden area find)

>fishing line

>beads (optional)

>Drill and bit

>wire cutter

>pliers (I used small, jewelry making ones)


  1. I started by making a loop at the top of the wire hanger and stretching the hanger into a diamond shape.


2. Cut your dowel to size. My dowel was a remnant from the burlap window panel project and was already cut to 12". Win! I drilled holes into the ends of my dowel in order to better attach it to the hanger and secure the dowel to the hanger.


3. Continue to wrap the wire along the top and bottom for embellishment AND to help attract the hummingbirds. They are drawn to bright colors. That said, I added colored beads to the top and bottom. Again, totally optional! Done!



Now, I wait and see if they use it! Ha! Here is the swing that I saw at the hardware store that inspired me to make my own! They're almost here.....what birds and/or flowers do you look forward to seeing the return of?? If you're curious in following their migration, follow along here: https://www.hummingbirdcentral.com/hummingbird-migration-spring-2021-map.htm










Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page