top of page

Knob Knock Off

Updated: Feb 27, 2021

I love heading to the Habitat for Humanity Restore for project inspiration. It's the perfect place to find unique items to upcycle into something amazing! Perfect example is my "knob knock off" project. I spotted one at Hobby Lobby very similar to the one I made. Mine cost about $10. Hobby Lobby was selling theirs for $22! Using a cupboard door and unique knobs found at HFH, I made this trendy, but timeless wall decor.


Tip: Get creative with this one! Door size, knob style, color is up to you! Take a look around your space and see what works where and what you like! This also makes a great gift! Find only one knob you like? Use a smaller piece of wood....or make a collage of mismatched knobs!


Supplies:

>Cupboard door/piece of wood

>Knobs

>Chalk paint

>Drill and drill bit (size depends on the diameter of the knob post)

>Screws/nuts/bolts

>Picture hanging kit

>Felt

>Glue gun

>Tape measure


  1. Paint the wood. I used Valspar Chalkboard Paint in Black. This is the project when my love affair with chalk paint began!


2. Measure knob placement and mark with a pencil to drill on the back of the wood. I like symmetry and balance, so there was some math involved. Not my gift, but I did it. Measure twice or three times, drill once! *I had to share this pin I found on Pinterest from www.iwastesomuchtime.com. Truth.





3. Using your drill with 1/4" bit installed, drill completely through the wood at the pencil marks.


4. Insert knobs and tighten in place with the nut provided on the knob.


5. In order to protect the wall, I had to get creative with how to cover up the protruding backside of the knob (see below). I used felt and a glue gun to cover each bolt so it wouldn't scratch the wall.




6. Add the hanging hardware and that's it! I opted to hang mine vertically instead of using it has a hook, but again totally customizable!



It does stick out slightly from the wall because of the bolts on the back, but it's secure with the picture hanging hardware.


Have you tried a project like this? I would love to see the variety of knobs you found - Comment below. When I bought these beauties I had no idea what I was going to do with them, but I knew there was a project in my purchase!











33 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page