top of page

House Number Hack

Happy March! It's my favorite month of the year! St Patty's, my birthday, Spring, all things green and new! I've been buzzing all winter inside and now I'm looking to getting to work outside! We've lived in our current house for almost six years and things are looking a bit tired - from the BIG changes to the small (i.e., the shrubs and the house numbers!). Let's start small and cheap! I've seen tons of attractive house number displays and am ready to hone in on my own design!


This is the design I'm basing my design from that I saw on Etsy (Kunkel Creations's store) for $60!




Supplies/Tools:

>a board from our old cedar fence - size totally optional for your space!

>some scrap wood (from our kitchen project) for the frame

>gel stain from a former project

>new house numbers ( I couldn't find the size I wanted 2nd hand), but these 6" numbers were worth the splurge!

>Drill and wood screws

>Miter saw (or hand saw and sand paper)

>tape measure

>pencil


  1. I started out by arranging the numbers in a variety of ways to find the look I liked best. The floating numbers have stencils with each number which is super helpful for getting just the right placement.

2. Then, I positioned the framing pieces, measured and made cuts.


And a few more cuts....


3. Stain the framing pieces (if desired). I've used this gel stain for multiple projects - it just lasts and lasts! I realize I shouldn't be staining on our walnut butcher block, but it was dark and cold outside and I was on a roll!




4. Then I started placing the numbers. Making sure to be equal distance from the top and sides and in between numbers. Tedious, but important! Once lined up, I made an impression of each screw hole using the white number stencils and drilled a hole from the back and secured each number with a screw. Depending on how you want to attach your numbers, this step will vary.


5. Build the frame by using a vice, kreg jig or secure wall, in my case! Squeeze the pieces tightly to make sure you don't get gaps between the pieces when you drill. Attached the framed piece to the number board with additional screws.



House number hack complete! Affixing to the brick wall forth coming! This is an easy, but eye-catching upgrade for some Spring curb appeal!



How do you want to spruce up your curb for some appeal this year?? Tell me!




51 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page