top of page

Fabulous Faux Brick Wall

Updated: May 5, 2021

When we moved into our 1979 Brady Bunch Builder Beige house, I started imagining all the color and options I would work into the high ceilings and connected rooms - very different from our 1948 South Mpls bungalow. One of my first projects was our faux brick wall. It had so much potential, but I didn't know what! A dear friend mentioned that she created bricks using paint on her mantel, so I thought why not an entire wall!? Let's give it a go!


I had already chosen three shades of Sherwin Williams paint to use throughout the open concept: Gauntlet Grey, Dorian Grey and Repose Grey. I used the lightest (Repose) and darkest (Gauntlet) greys to create the brick and mortar effect here.




This was a tedious project, but worth it! Swoon.





The transformation was incredible and I love it to this day (four years later!). Don't be afraid to be bold! It's just paint or wall paper. Unless you're tearing down walls, anything can be easily fixed (and even that CAN be fixed!)! Just go for it!


What simple, but impactful changes have you made lately or in the past? Plans for an upcoming statement wall? Do tell!

35 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page