top of page

Burlap Window Panels

Not only have our 75+ inch wide blinds been held up with twine for the last 2 years, but our neighbors across the street have had a dumpster in their driveway since August! It's time for some new window treatments. I've never liked the way blinds look nor do I like how much they cost, so I came up with my own stylish and affordable solution: burlap window panels! They bring in just the right amount of light when closed and provide ample privacy...and they look amazing!


Supplies

>burlap - measure and measure again (Joann has a great variety and always has coupons!)

>tension rods

>wooden dowels

>rings and hooks (if you want the option to raise the panels)

>glue gun

>scissors

>tape measure

>clear nail polish/Mod Gob/fray

>steamer


  1. First I measured each window panel - width and length. This allowed me to determine how many yards of burlap to get. The burlap bolt of fabric was only 44" wide so I had to get enough length for all panels to accommodate three 26" wide panels. See the twine holding up the blinds? Classy, eh? I took the picture crooked for added effect! ;)



2. Cut your burlap to size. I made mine the exact width (I didn't account for a salvage) because I opted for a "no sew" technique. As I watched the associate at Joann cut my 5 yards, I learned a new trick! Grab one strand of the burlap and pull it out, so you have a nice straight line to cut! Genius! I did include about three extra inches to wrap the rod (top) and the dowel (bottom) when I did the length of each panel.



3. Once I had each panel cut to size, I treated the raw edge of the fabric with nail polish to prevent it from fraying. You can use several options to prevent fray, but I opted for nail polish.


4. Size your tension rods, if needed. I used the kind I had to set (Target was out of the ones I really wanted!).




5. Lay out the rod and use a glue gun to wrap the burlap around each rod.



6. Measure, cut and sand the edge of the dowels.





7. Lay the dowel on the bottom of your panel and glue the burlap around it.



8. Hang up each panel to steam, if needed. At this point, I finally removed the old shades (just in time for city wide curbside clean up!).


9. Because I wanted the option to open these on occasion, I added a hook to the top of each pane and attached a ring to the bottom of each panel. I love the transparency of the burlap as shown in the daylight picture. I used a strand of the burlap to attach the ring. I had these cool jewelry making rings that I was thankful to finally find a use for! Wooden macrame hooks would work well, too!



I'm so happy with results and the contrast of brown on the white pane against the grey wall. It's the little things that are BIG! What are your thoughts on blinds? Love them? Hate them?










57 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page